Sandboxie allows you to run your browser, or any other program, so that all changes that result from the usage are kept in a sandbox environment, which can then be deleted later. This allows you to remove traces of your Internet or PC activities, as well as reverse any changes to your Favorites, home page, registry and more. Even files that were downloaded during a sandbox session will be wiped after the sandbox is cleared. The program runs in the system tray and if you want to start a sandboxed session, simply launch your browser, or any other program via the tray icon, rather than the regular way.
Reviewing 4.13.2 Beta (Aug 23, 2014)
@ CyberDoc999 : Happened to me to. Had to re-install Windows and all software.
Reviewing 4.05.08 Beta (Sep 3, 2013)
I believe Sandboxie has been "buggy" lately to the point that I had to uninstall recent versions and reinstall a previous version (3.74) in order to be able to use it. Updating wasn't an issue before but lately I'm reluctant to update.
Reviewing 3.81.08 Beta (Sep 2, 2012)
the updates are buggy
since version 3.72
I can not get Sandboxie to install.... it fails to install the driver
and now I can not get any version to install.....
Reviewing 3.81.04 Beta (Aug 13, 2012)
@rickhfx Sandboxie default is to delete files. You have the option of setting up Sandboxie to shred files and 2 methods are supported (Sdelete/Eraser) under sandbox settings ... possibly other places to access those settings. Sdelete will NOT function properly until you have run it once and answered the EULA. While the shredding process is working a red 'X' will appear on the Sandboxie tray icon until the entire shredding process is completed and then you can delete the contents of another sandbox.
Reviewing 3.81.03 Beta (Jul 6, 2012)
Are sandboxed file deleted or shredded when closing? Deleted files are still on the hard drive and can be recovered. Shredding would over write and destroy them, a better security idea.